30 Day Vegetarian Challenge

I solemnly vow to be a vegetarian for a month. There, I said it. I wrote it. Vegetables, here I come.

purplecabbage

Purple cabbage and endive at my local grocery.

I was a deer in the headlights, standing in the organic whole foods section of my grocery store this weekend. Armed with a grocery list of yummy looking vegetarian recipes, I was creating my new vegan pantry. I spent an hour and a half scanning the shelves for obscure-to-me products.

There’s such a thing as meatless bacon? Sure, why not. The soy yogurt could be tasty. Extra-firm silken tofu, now that’s scary. Four cheese ravioli, now that’s what I’m talking about!

My favorite meals are steak and sushi, but I’m committing to being a vegetarian for a month.

Can I actually do this?

Why Would I Ever? For health reasons, and I’m trying to lose my baby weight. No, I’m not that concerned about killing animals, I just want to be healthy and fit into my skinny jeans. I recently applied for a new life insurance policy, and found my cholesterol at elevated levels. Yikes. It’s time to take action.

The Plan. This diet is simple. Eat a whole foods, plant-based diet, while minimizing the consumption of refined foods, added salt, and added fats. In other words, I’ll eat plants. Plus, I’ll take a B12 supplement and be sure to get some sun for vitamin D.

Stress-free. I’ll eliminate animal-based products from my diet but not obsess over it. If a tasty squash soup has chicken stock in it, I won’t stress. I’ll definitely cheat and have some cheese in a few meals.

VeganDiet

Today, I start day 1 of my new diet. For breakfast, I had oatmeal with cranberries and nuts topped with vanilla soy milk. Good so far!  On Tuesdays, I’ll report back to you how I did.

happy-herbivoreJoin me in your own healthy eating challenge! Go vegan all the way, or just try cutting out meat for two meals a day.  Your call. At the end of the month, one reader will receive The Happy Herbivore Cookbook: Over 175 Delicious Fat-Free and Low-Fat Vegan Recipes.

Giveaway

(1) Comment below with your goal or paste a link to your own blog stating your healthy eating goal. (2) On Tuesdays, I’ll post an update on how we did that week. Leave a comment or link to your post on how you did too. At the end of the month, the winner will be chosen out of readers who posted all 4 weeks and send you the book.

In case you are wondering. There are different types of veggie eaters:

Happy Ve-ing!

References:

Related posts:

24 thoughts on “30 Day Vegetarian Challenge

  1. Enjoy those veggies!! I was, pre-breastfeeder, an ovo-lacto vegetarian and I learned the best way for me to be able to cook dinners happily was to take many of my old favorites and make them vegetarian, not start over with all new recipes. A few examples would be: Chili (instead of ground beef, I’d use more beans and veggies like mushrooms & green pepper, or tofu in place of the meat), Tacos (Use frozen soy protein “fake ground beef” in place of meat), Quesadillas (instead of chicken, use refried beans as protein), Sloppy Joes (instead of ground beef, I’d use a beans/veggie mixture in the same joe sauce). Good luck!

    • That sounds like a good idea, taking your favs and substituting veggies. I’ll try it! Thanks for your encouragement and suggestions. I had a tofu, spinach, mushroom quesadilla for lunch today. I haven’t had sloppy joe since college because it’s so unhealthy. I’m ready to try a new-sloppy-joe. Thanks and yum!

    • How’d you prepare the tofu? I’ve never done tofu in a quesadilla. There is a DiGiorno pizza you might like (but of course, there is cheese!). It’s Spinach Mushroom and me, hubby, and 9 year old LOVE it! 🙂

    • Ah, unfortunately I can’t take credit for cooking it. I had it at a natural foods restaurant. I did however snag the ingredients for an awesome “chicken” and rice soup that the chef made. Rosemary, chicken bullion, thyme, rice, broccoli, carrots, cauliflower. I made it without the soy chicken, because my pantry isn’t that properly stocked yet. My babies loved it. I’ll have to the try the pizza. I’m opting for cheese! What do you put on it or is already made?

    • Haha, oh! The pizza is totally done. Another trick is to by just a cheese pizza and add your OWN toppings! Not all pizzas are good, though. Some are made with nasty hydrogenated and others are not, so be cautious about that. :/ Tombstone and DiGiorno are both good ones. 🙂

  2. I accept your challenge…but I’m going to do ‘Meatless Mondays!”…and Thursdays : ) Good luck! It will be a big adjustment but I know you can do it! Can’t wait to read about your progress.

    (I just noticed you also said “…or just try cutting out meat for two meals a day.” Hmmm, might try that actually…)

  3. That’s a great goal! Thanks for joining me! I’m excited to see what new dishes we’ll try that we otherwise would not have eaten. 🙂 Fun-fun!

    • That’s good advice. thank you! I love kale broccoli, although this week, I’m a bit tired of black beans. 🙂 Would love to hear anymore advice you have to offer.

  4. Good luck! My family is not vegetarian, but we eat very healthy with minimal amounts of anything processed. It’s a lot of work because everything is from scratch, but it is sooo worth it!

    • Thank you! I love how your family has healthy eating habits. I hope to get there! I’ve always been a healthy eater myself, but my man is a meat and potatoes guy. I admit though, this 30 day challenge has him trying to eat healthy these days. We’ll get there!

  5. I hope it all goes well for you. My husband and I went vegetarian for a few months a while ago but finally decided it wasn’t for us. I still enjoy the odd bit of tofu though.

    • Thanks for the encouragement! You know, I’m actually surprised with how much discouragement I get when my friends hear I’m trying vegan. I’m definitely swimming against the fishes here in the south. 🙂 Glad your husband went in with you. Meal planning is a bit complicated at our house trying to plan something that my carnivorous husband will enjoy too.

  6. Pingback: 30 Day Vegetarian Challenge Week 1 « Married With Twins

  7. Pingback: The Best Health and Fitness (says me) « Atlantamomofthree

  8. Pingback: 30 Day Vegetarian Challenge Week 2 « Married With Twins

  9. Pingback: Four Cheese and Spinach Ravioli Salad « Married With Twins

  10. Pingback: 30 Day Vegetarian Challenge Week 3 « Married With Twins

  11. Pingback: 30 Day Vegetarian Challenge Week 4 « Married With Twins

What do you think?

